Before You Go Blog Tour

Join HOLLOW TOURS for Before You Go By: Ella James! Feb12-18th!


Sign Up with The Hollow Tours Feb 1-29 for our Book Tour of Creature Kid!

Stained Blog Tour

Join HOLLOW TOURS for Stained By: Ella James! Feb19-25th!


Incarnate On Sale Jan 31, 2012 By Jodi Meadows Join us at HOLLOW TOURS for this Book Tour! Running Jan 1-29th with a Giveaway on the 30th!


Join HOLLOW READERS March 1st as we post a Massive Review and giveaway for this amazing upcoming book by Jessica Shirvington









Saturday, February 25, 2012

On The Bright Side by S.R. Johannes Review

On the Bright Side is a hilarious road to guardian angeldom paved with so much drama and due-paying that it makes middle school look painless.
As if the devil’s food cake at her wake and the white fat pants she’s stuck wearing for eternity weren’t bad enough, fourteen year-old Gabby is quick to discover that Cirrus, the main rung of Heaven, is a far cry from the Pearly Gates. Here, Skyphones and InnerNets are all the rage. Until Gabby finds out she has to protect Angela, her school nemesis, in order to move up through the training levels of heaven. Problem is, Angela is now hitting on Gabby's should-have-been boyfriend. (awkward!)
Instead of protecting Angela, Gabby pranks her (like tripping is a sin?) at the hopes of cooling off the new couple. At first, they seem harmless until the school dance sabotage gets completely out of control. Then, her Celestial Sky Agent, who happens to have anger management issues of his own, puts Gabby on probation, threatening her eternal future.
Determined to right her wrongs, Gabby steals an ancient artifact that allows her to return to Earth for just one day. Without knowing, she kicks off a series of events and learns what can happen when you hate someone to death.
About the author:

S.R. Johannes is the author of Untraceable (a teen wilderness thriller) and On The Bright Side ( a tween paranormal).She started out writing for her local school paper, winning a state Nutrition essay contest for “Be a Smart Cookie”, and singing in a local Jazz band. Somewhere along the way, she earned an MBA in Marketing and embarked on an 18-year marketing career in Corporate America working as a marketing and communications consultant.In 2000, S.R. traded in her expensive suits, way-too high heels, and corporate lingo for a family, flip-flops, and her love of writing. She started her own marketing & communications business,, and continues creating materials for a variety of large profit and nonprofit clients, including Spanx, Goody Hair Products, Chick Filet, Delta, CARE, and the Boys & Girls Club of America. S.R.’s dream is to publish children’s books and magically imprint the imaginations of kids. In addition to juggling nap schedules while attending client meetings, Shelli focuses on her writing. She is a frequent marketing speaker at SCBWI conferences across the U.S and runs a popular marketing blog, Market My Words( where she provides marketing advice for authors in the hopes of helping them better market their words.In her spare time (yeah right!) and if the kids allow (yeah right!), Shelli obsesses over movies, reads children’s books (over and over), wishes she could squeeze in Bikram Yoga sessions, and dreams of sleeping in on the weekends.She currently lives in Atlanta with her dog, British-accented husband, and the huge imaginations of their little prince and princess that someday will change the world.
My Thoughts:
This has to be one of the cutest books I have read in awhile. Not taking anything away from the story by calling it cute at all. I found this story refreshing and written in such a way that I was able to read it through in a few sittings. Gabby is a little spitfire who dies way too early and is sent to Cirrus to become a guardian angle if you will to her nemesis Angela. Gabby feels that Angela is petty and shallow. I loved the humor that is Gabby. Trying so hard to be good but finding herself in trouble every step of the way, will she be able to get her wings???  Go get yourself a copy and read it for yourself... i enjoyed the book immensely and recommend it to YA and adults alike.

I was provided with this review copy and was not monetarily compensated for my review.
ebook: (available jan 31st)

ISBN 10 – 0984799117
13 - 978-0-9847991-1-4
 paperback (available in Feb)
ISBN-10: 0984799133
ISBN-13: 978-0-9847991-3-8

 How to Buy:
 Paperback will be available in Feb.
 To buy the Kindle ebook - The ebook is $2.99 and can be purchased at amazon

 Book Trailer:

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Creature Kid Book Tour

click for tour page

Product Description

Why do the movies always portray mutants as having some kind of glorious plight? If a kid got bit by a radioactive spider he’d probably puke webs right before he died. Men that can walk through bullets and fly don’t dress in tights and pretend to be newspaper reporters. And there are no special flashlights to shine in the air to signal you when there’s trouble. You want to be a superhero and fight crime? Prospects are unlikely at best. Chances are you’d just get sued by the criminals you arrested and put in prison for delivering your own vigilante justice.
The truth of the matter is living as a mutant is risky business. Uncontrollable outbreaks, delusions of grandeur and don’t forget the horde of scientists eager to pick you apart to figure out what makes you tick. Did you really expect a special school to crop up just to take care of all the misfortunate adolescents? Or you could create your own little team by adding Fantastic, Super, or Glorious to the front of a number. No, you wouldn’t be so lucky. And neither was Anthony Dimair, as a matter of fact he was the exact opposite. Now he must survive long enough to find the meaning of his Uncle’s cryptic message while avoiding capture, fighting the elements, and trying to not end up as dinner.

Rashad Freeman


Rashad Freeman is a Florida native and avid water sports enthusiast. When he's not chasing his 3 boys around or working hard for his real job he writes young adult action adventure and paranormal novels and adult mystery/thrillers. His first title "Creature Kid Volume I" debuted January 1, 2012 and is the first in a long string of action packed stories floating recklessly around in his head.


I am so happy to be part of this tour!  Sorry for the late post I had to have Jessica post this for me because of computer issues.  

When I started this book I was a little scared that it was so short that how much could really happen?   However, I was surprised with tons of action!!!  I read this book in one day it was so good!  This has got to be the best book I have read this year.  And Cant wait for the next volume! 

Come join us for Book Tours with Honest Reviews!
Sign up now to become a host/reviewer!  

Monday, February 13, 2012

Diary in The Attic - Reviewed By: Crystal Trent Dotson

By: Cindy L. Freeman
Reviewed By: Crystal Trent Dotson

Margaret Monroe is called to Corrine Meltons death bed, where she learns of a shocking secret, and when Corrines mother is found dead the same night, the police suspect Corrine. Now Margaret has to try and get into the house to unravel the secrets that went on behind closed doors.
Four Star Rating

I received a complimentary copy of Diary in the Attic as a member of the
Dorrance Publishing Book Review Team. Visit
to learn how you can become a member of the Book Review Team.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Ethereal (Celestra Series Book 1) by Addison Moore

I got a Kindle for my birthday, in the heat of summer, when I also happened to be seven and a half months pregnant. It was the original Kindle, and I loved how light it was; I could lie on my side and hold it with one hand. Knowing nothing about Kindle and not being very tech savvy, I started working my way through various Amazon lists--mainly teen and "children's." Addison Moore's Celestra series was on its second or third book I think. I had no idea who she was, but Ethereal appeared on several lists and sounded interesting, and for .99 it was a deal.

Addison Moore's prose was easy on the brain, with short sentences and minimal descriptions.The pace sometimes felt too fast, the writing too choppy and lowbrow, but the book had a high novelty factor so those things weren't hard to overlook.

I'm not a huge fan of lengthy scene-setting and descriptions; I prefer to read more about the characters and their interactions, so I'm not complaining about the lack of uber-descriptive-ness, but occasionally the pace of this book was so fast that either a) I didn't have a clear impression of what was going on or b) I got exhausted from the number of dramatic events and revelations, and despite the book being very exciting, I would have to put it down.

Overall, the dramatic events and revelations made this book refreshing and fun, but sometimes it felt like a grocery store tabloid: lots of exciting things were happening, but there wasn't much substance.

While Skyla was spunky and relatable, with self-esteem too-often lacking in YA heroines, she was also shallow, impulsive, and sometimes annoying because of her tendency toward stupid decisions. (I'm obligated to point out that her stupid decisions also made for pretty good entertainment).

Over and over, I thought what a realistic teenage girl she was, but her occasional bouts of brattiness,  fickleness and self-interest definitely got a little old. (Still, I admired the realism inherent in shallow, impulsive teenage characters; that's how some teenagers are, though probably not the ones buying books on Kindle).

Addison Moore seems to have traded character depth for excitement with a capital "E." It would have been nice if the book had had both. One of my favorite things about YA books that feature a romantic line is crushing on the heroes, and neither Logan nor Gabe was very swoonworthy for me. I never felt like I knew them well enough.

In a lot of ways the story felt thrown together, as impulsive as its heroine. But it really was exciting. If I recall, I bought book two with a fair amount of zeal and felt that my .99 was well-spent in exchange for the entertainment value Skyla and her clan offered.

I'm at the end of my review, and I realized I haven't mentioned anything about the paranormal elements. The book was so much about high school drama that, to me, the paranormal elements almost faded into the background. Still...they were a big part of the story, and I thought Addison Moore did a nice job creating a spooky town where danger seemed to be everywhere, and an interesting clan of supernatural characters with lots of hidden motives and secret plans.

I would recommend this as a good, quick beach read or something to take with you on a plane or to the hospital, or any other such place where a solid diversion is needed. If you're looking for depth and characters to strongly connect with, stick with more thoughtful writers like Maggie Steifvater.

Genre comparisons, just for the fun of it:
-Ethereal vs. Fallen Star by Jessica Sorensen... Ethereal has a stronger setting/sense of "magic" and a lot  more fun surprises, but Fallen Star has stronger characters and a bit more depth.

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Free YA romance ebook

Hi guys! I'm Ella James, one of the new owners of the site. I couldn't resist pimping one of my books - Before You Go - a YA romance that's free today and tomorrow on Kindle! If you don't have Kindle but have another e-reader or would be interested in reading via Amazon's "Cloud Reader" (in your browser window), e-mail me and I'll hook you up.

Here's a summary:
Margo Ford just became an heiress. Not the Paris Hilton kind. Her billions came after her father died and her insanely wealthy, insanely absent mother officially claimed her. Unfortunately, some terrorists noticed, and they hatched a plot to kidnap her. After a news report goes awry, reporting that Margo *has* been kidnapped, and her mother offers the humiliating sum of $500,000 for her return, Margo doesn't want anything to do with her *#$!@ of an egg donor. Then she is sentenced to a summer of "protection" on her mother's private island. Not the Oprah Winfrey kind. This one has an astronomical observatory filled with scientists, including Logan Greer, a super hot, super infuriating planet-hunter. Hiding out from kidnappers has never been so boring... until suddenly it isn't anymore.

Friday, February 3, 2012


Guest post of the week by Deangelo Spencer

I have been having so much fun with my Clearwirelessinternet, getting on They have a really cool software program that you can join for free. You can take your picture and upload it. You can try on a number of different celebrity hairstyles to see what you would look like if you were to change your hair cut and style. If you find a style that you really like, you can also change the color of the hair to find a color that suits your skin tone best. The other cool thing is that you can try on all different types of makeup. The makeup that you try on is actually real colors from real manufacturers. If you find something that you like and that looks good on you, then you can order it straight from the internet. The internet is getting cooler and cooler. I found a really pretty Dior red lip gloss that looked great on me. I ended up ordering it and was really pleased when I got it in the mail. It looked exactly like I expected it to look—fabulous!


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More